About the Fund

  • The Captain Jason Dahl Scholarship Fund is a IRS qualified 501(c)3 Non-Profit Corporation established to provide scholarships for qualified students who wish to attend accredited commercial flight training schools in the United States. Captain Dahl himself received a $2,000 scholarship toward his flight school tuition at San Jose State University in California, after completing and winning an essay contest with the subject entitled, “Why I Want to Fly.” Captain Dahl loved to fly and had a natural ability which he discovered at a young age due to such scholarships. He became a Standards Captain for United Airlines in Denver, Colorado.

As Captain of United Flight 93 on September 11, 2001, Jason was among the first to give his life in a valiant effort to protect the passengers and crew of his ship. We have no doubt Jason would willingly serve again, because he was that kind of pilot, father and man.
Annual scholarship awards are determined by a twelve person board, whose membership includes his widow, Sandra Dahl, and close friends David Dosch, Tom Wellborn, and Kevin Larson. In 2008, Tom Bush was elected to the board as fundraising chair. In 2009, long-time friend of the Board, Captain Steve Jacquez was elected Treasurer, succeeding long time board member and president, Dan Hatlestad. The board also includes, Captain Jeff Cramer, Captain Denny Flanagan, Jewel Wellborn, Nathan Rau, Sean Alexander, and Anna Abbott.

The Captain Jason Dahl Scholarship Fund was established the day after the national tragedy, and grew to a respectable sum within the first few months, thanks to the outpouring of support from family, friends, and other generous Americans. That outpouring continues to this day, as fundraising activities and charitable organizations demonstate with generous contributions.

Awards are granted from annual proceeds generated by the Perpetual Fund.

The board has installed the following officers for 2010-2011:

Captain David Dosch, President & Scholarship Chair
Sandy Dahl, Publicity Chair
Captain Tom Bush, Fundraising Chair
Captain Jeff Cramer, Fundraising Chair
Captain Denny Flanagan
Captain Steve Jacquez, Treasurer
Anna Abbott, Treasurer
Kevin Larson, Secretary
Tom Wellborn, Webmaster